Sanskrit Verse

मनोबुद्ध्यहङ्कार चित्तानि नाहं

श्रोत्रजिह्वे घ्राणनेत्रे

व्योम भूमिर्न तेजो वायुः

चिदानन्दरूपः शिवोऽहम् शिवोऽहम् ॥१॥

English Transliteration:

Mano-Buddhy-Ahangkaara Cittaani Naaham

Na Ca Shrotra-Jihve Na Ca Ghraanna-Netre |

Na Ca Vyoma Bhuumir-Na Tejo Na Vaayuh

Cid-Aananda-Ruupah Shivo[a-A]ham Shivo[a-A]ham ||1||

Meaning of the Sanskrit Words:

मनोबुद्ध्यहङ्कार (Mano-Buddhi-Ahangkaara): Mind, Intelligence or Ego

मन (Mana) = Mind மனம்

बुद्धि (Buddhi) = Intelligence அறிவு

अहंकार (Ahamkaara) = Ego அகந்தை

चित्तानि (Cittaani): memory/intent/The Mind stuff

चित्त (Citta) = memory/intent/Mind stuff

नाहं (Naaham): Not I

न (Na) = Not

अहम् (Aham) = I

न (Na): Not

च (Ca): Also

श्रोत्रजिह्वे (Shrotra-Jihve): Organ of Hearing [Ears] or the Organ of Taste [Tongue]

श्रोत्र (Shrotra) = The organ of Hearing செவி

जिह्व (Jihva) = The Tongue, the organ of Taste நா

घ्राणनेत्रे (Ghraanna-Netre): Organ of Smelling [Nose] or the Organ of Seeing [Eyes]

घ्राण (Ghraanna) = The Nose, the organ of Smelling

नेत्र (Netra) = Eyes, the organ of Seeing

व्योम (Vyoma): Sky

भूमिर्न (Bhuumih-Na): Not the Earth

भूमि (Bhuumi) = Earth

न (Na) = Not

तेजो (Tejo): Energy signifying Fire

तेजस् (Tejas) = Energy signifying Fire

वायुः (Vaayuh): Air

चिदानन्दरूपः (Cid-Aananda-Ruupah): Nature of Blissful Consciousness

चित् (Cit) = Consciousness

आनन्द (Aananda) = Bliss

रूप (Ruupa) = Nature

शिवोऽहम् (Shiva-Aham): I am Shiva, the Blissful Consciousness

शिव (Shiva) = signifying Consciouness

अहम् (Aham) = I

Meaning of the Verse

1.1: Neither am I the Mind, nor the Intelligence or Ego,

1.2: Neither am I the organs of Hearing (Ears), nor that of Tasting (Tongue), Smelling (Nose) or Seeing (Eyes),

1.3: Neither am I the Sky, nor the Earth, Neither the Fire nor the Air,

1.4: I am the Ever Pure Blissful Consciousness; I am Shiva, I am Shiva, The Ever Pure Blissful Consciousness.

Notes: Mind (manah), intellect (buddhih), ego (ahamkara), and memory (chittani) together are referred to by the technical term antah karana or internal instrument. Ear, tongue, nose, eyes, and skin together are the five jnana indriyas. Space, earth, fire, air, and water are the five elements (pancha bhutas).

Meaning in Tamil

மனம் யானில்லை மதி யானில்லை

ஆணவம் யானில்லை செவியிரண்டும் யானில்லை

நாவு யானில்லை நுகர்நாசிகள் நானில்லை

விழியிரண்டும் யானில்லை விண்வெளியும் யானில்லை

இப்புவியும் யானில்லை அழலொளியும் யானில்லை

வீசும் காற்றும் யானில்லை உள்ளிரு நீரும் யானில்லை

உள்உணர்வின் பேரின்ப வடிவான சிவமே யான் சிவமே யான்

Author: prabhusponder

A novice venturing out to explore the meaning of life

4 thoughts on “NIRVANA SHATAKAM (ATMA SHATAKAM) Verse 1”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s