Verse 3

मे द्वेषरागौ मे लोभमोहौ

मदो नैव मे नैव मात्सर्यभावः

धर्मो चार्थो कामो मोक्षः

चिदानन्दरूपः शिवोऽहम् शिवोऽहम् ॥३॥

English Transliteration

Na Me Dvessa-Raagau Na Me Lobha-Mohau

Mado Naiva Me Naiva Maatsarya-Bhaavah |

Na Dharmo Na Ca-Artho Na Kaamo Na Mokssah

Cid-Aananda-Ruupah Shivo[a-A]ham Shivo[a-A]ham ||3||

Meaning of the Sanskrit Words

मे (Me): Relates to Me

द्वेषरागौ (Dvessa-Raagau): Hatred or Attachment

द्वेष (Dvessa) = Hatred

राग (Raaga) = Passion, Affection

लोभमोहौ (Lobha-Mohau): Greed or Infatuation

लोभ (Lobha) = Greed

मोह (Moha) = Infatuation

मदो (Mado): Pride, Arrogance, Passion

मद (Mada) = Pride, Arrogance, Passion

नैव (Na-Iva): Not Indeed

न (Na) = Not

इव (Iva) = Indeed

मात्सर्यभावः (Maatsarya-Bhaava): Feeling of Jealousy

मात्सर्य (Maatsarya) = Jealousy

भाव (Bhaava) = Feeling

धर्मो (Dharmo): Righteousness

धर्म (Dharma) = Righteousness

चार्थो (Ca-Artha): And Wealth

च (Ca) = And

अर्थ (Artha) = Wealth

कामो (Kaamo): Desire

काम (Kaama) = Desire

मोक्षः (Mokssah): Liberation

चिदानन्दरूपः (Cid-Aananda-Ruupah): Nature of Blissful Consciousness

चित् (Cit) = Consciousness

आनन्द (Aananda) = Bliss

रूप (Ruupa) = Nature

शिवोऽहम् (Shiva-Aham): I am Shiva, the Blissful Consciousness

शिव (Shiva) = signifying Consciouness

अहम् (Aham) = I

Meaning of the Verse

3.1: Neither do I have Hatred, nor Attachment, Neither Greed nor Infatuation,

3.2: Neither do I have Pride, nor Feelings of Envy and Jealousy,

3.3 I am Not within the bounds of Dharma (Righteousness), Artha (Wealth), Kama (Desire) and Moksha (Liberation) (the four Purusarthas of life),

3.4: I am the Ever Pure Blissful Consciousness; I am Shiva, I am Shiva, The Ever Pure Blissful Consciousness.

3. I have neither aversion nor attachment, neither greed nor delusion; I have neither arrogance nor jealousy; I have no duty (to perform) nor any wealth (to acquire); neither desire nor liberation; I am of the nature of Pure Consciousness-Bliss Absolute, I am Shiva, I am (verily) Shiva

Notes: Greed, delusion, pride and jealousy together with lust and anger constitute shad ripu (also called ari shad varga), the six-fold internal enemies of a human being. Dharma (righteousness), artha (wealth), kama (desire), and moksha (liberation) are together known as purusharthas, the four objectives of a human being.

Meaning in Tamil

விருப்பு வெருப்பெனக்கில்லை பேரவாவும் காமமும் எனக்கில்லை

இறுமாப்பு ஆணவம் காழ்ப்புணர்வும் யான் கொண்டதில்லை –

நான்வாழ் இலக்காம் நேர்மை செல்வம் இன்பம் முக்திதனின் வரையெனக்கில்லை

உள்உணர்வின் பேரின்ப வடிவான சிவமே யான் சிவமே யான்

Author: prabhusponder

A novice venturing out to explore the meaning of life

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s