Verse 2

प्राणसंज्ञो वै पञ्चवायुः

वा सप्तधातुः वा पञ्चकोशः

वाक्पाणिपादं चोपस्थपायु

चिदानन्दरूपः शिवोऽहम् शिवोऽहम् ॥२॥

English Transliteration

Na Ca Praanna-Samjnyo Na Vai

Na Vaa Sapta-Dhaatuh Na Vaa |

Na Vaak-Paanni-Paadam Na Copastha-Paayu

Cid-Aananda-Ruupah Shivo[a-A]ham Shivo[a-A]ham ||2||

Meaning of the Sanskrit Words

प्राणसंज्ञो (Praanna-Samjnyo): The Vital Breath

प्राण (Praanna) = The vital Breath

संज्ञो (Samjnyo) = Conscious of

वै (Vai): Or

पञ्चवायुः ( The Five Vital Air

पञ्च ( = Five

वायु (Vaayu) = Vital Airs

वा (Vaa): Or

सप्तधातुः (Sapta-Dhaatuh): The Seven Ingredients [of the body]

सप्त (Sapta) = Seven

धातु (Dhaatu) = Ingredient

पञ्चकोशः ( The Five Sheaths [of the gross and subtle body]

पञ्च ( = Five

कोश (Kosha) = Sheath

वाक्पाणिपादं (Vaak-Paanni-Paadam): Speech, Hand and Foot

वाच् (Vaac) = Speech

पाणि (Paanni) = Hand

पाद (Paada) = Foot

चोपस्थपायु (Copastha-Paayu): The organ of Excretion

चुप् (Cup) = Move

पायु (Paayu) = Organ of Excretion, Anus

चिदानन्दरूपः (Cid-Aananda-Ruupah): Nature of Blissful Consciousness

चित् (Cit) = Consciousness

आनन्द (Aananda) = Bliss

रूप (Ruupa) = Nature

शिवोऽहम् (Shiva-Aham): I am Shiva, the Blissful Consciousness

शिव (Shiva) = signifying Consciouness

अहम् (Aham) = I

Meaning of the Verse

2.1: Neither am I the Vital Breath, nor the Five Vital Airs,

2.2: Neither am I the Seven Ingredients (of the Body), nor the Five Sheaths (of the Body),

2.3: Neither am I the organ of Speech, nor the organs for Holding ( Hand ), Movement ( Feet ) or Excretion,

2.4: I am the Ever Pure Blissful Consciousness; I am Shiva, I am Shiva, The Ever Pure Blissful Consciousness.

2. I am not indicated by prana, nor the five-fold vital airs nor the seven elements (sapta dhatuh) of the body, nor the five sheaths; nor the organs of speech, nor hand, nor leg; and not generative or excretory organs, I am of the nature of Pure Consciousness-Bliss-Absolute, I am Shiva, I am (verily) Shiva. 

Notes: Five vital airs are : Prana (controls respiratory system), Apana (controls excretory system), Vyana (controls circulatory system); Samana (controls digestive system), and Udana (controls ejection of the prana from the physical body). Seven basic elements (sapta dhatuh) consist of: skin, flesh, fat, bone, blood, bone marrow, and semen. Five sheaths (pancha kosha) are believed to veil our understanding of the atman include, in order from gross (outer most) to the subtle (inner most): annamaya kosha (food sheath); pranamaya kosha (vital air sheath);manomaya kosha (mind sheath); vijnanamaya kosha (intellectual sheath); and anandamaya kosha (bliss sheath).

Meaning in Tamil

உள்உயிர்மூச்சும் யானில்லை

உயிர்காக்கும் ஐவகை ஆவியும் யானில்லை

உடல் ஏழு மூலமும் யானில்லை

உயிர்மேவும் ஐவுறையும் யானில்லை

உடலொட்டிய ஐம்பொறியும் யானில்லை

உள்உணர்வின் பேரின்ப வடிவான சிவமே யான் சிவமே யான்

Author: prabhusponder

A novice venturing out to explore the meaning of life

11 thoughts on “NIRVANA SHATAKAM (ATMA SHATAKAM) Verse 2”

  1. Comments received through WhatsApp

    “வாழ்க வளமுடன். ‘எதுவும் நானில்லை, ஆனால் எல்லாமும் நானே. ‘அத்தத்துவமே சிவம்’
    அதைப்புரிந்து கொள்வதற்கே இந்த மெய்.”

  2. Dance and dancer cannot be separated
    Creativity and creator cannot be separated.
    Water and life cannot be separated.
    Earth and water cannot be separated
    Female and male cannot be separated
    Brammam and Nirvana cannot be separated.
    Love and violence again cannot be .
    There is only ONE.
    I realise this little thing as a person involved in the pursuit of Earth Science.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s